Malaysia Solidarity Consultative Committee Meeting In Kuching

On this day in 1961, the Malaysia Solidarity Consultative Committee held their second meeting in Kuching, Sarawak. The committee comprising representatives from the Federation of Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak and Sabah, was meeting with the aim to discuss the formation of the Federation of Malaysia. The Malaysia Solidarity Consultative Committee was established in the month of July 1961. Sabah’s political figure, Donald Stephens was named as Chairman. The Federation of Malaya was represented by seven people, headed by Muhamad Khir Johari. Singapore had four representatives with Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew as the head. Sarawak state had eight representatives with Datu Mustapha Datu Harun as the head. The meeting successfully achieved several milestones. As a consequence of the Solidarity Consultative Committee’s meetings, the aspiration of establishing the Federation of Malaysia gradually became a reality and on  16 February 1963,  Malaysia was born.